Skip to content

Isaiah 61:1 – Good News for the Poor, Afflicted & Humble!

December 4, 2008

Isa 61:1 NASB
(1)  The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me, Because the LORD has anointed me To bring good news to the afflicted; He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, To proclaim liberty to captives And freedom to prisoners;

Isa 61:1 HNV
(1)  The Spirit of the Lord GOD is on me; because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the humble; he has sent me to bind up the broken-hearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening [of the prison] to those who are bound;

Isa 61:1 HCSB
(1)  The Spirit of the Lord GOD is on Me, because the LORD has anointed Me to bring good news to the poor. He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and freedom to the prisoners;

Why the same verse from three different translations? Well, it has to do with the word in purple. I am doing a bible study that is centered around this verse and the ones following it. You see…I can relate to all three ways in which the word is translated. Each one touches something in my life. So, I wondered…just what DOES the word actually mean?

Brown Driver Briggs says the following:

H6035
עניו  /  ענו
‛ânâv  /  ‛ânâyv
BDB Definition:
1) poor, humble, afflicted, meek
1a) poor, needy
1b) poor and weak
1c) poor, weak and afflicted
1d) humble, lowly, meek
Part of Speech: noun masculine
A Related Word by BDB/Strong’s Number: from H6031
Same Word by TWOT Number: 1652a

This appears to be one of those Hebrew words for which there is no one English word that really encompasses its full meaning. There are many words like that, which is why I like to study from more than one translation. It is also why I value the language dictionaries that can help me to better understand what is being written here.

At various times in my life, I have been all the different aspects of that word…oftentimes, more than one aspect at a time. That makes this verse very comforting to me! In so many ways, Yeshua came to bring me good news…and you, too!

I hope to keep looking at more of what is written in this verse and the ones following. This is part of what spoke to my heart today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

