Skip to content

Love Your Enemies – My Meanderings of Thought!

November 11, 2009

Hmmmm. Gosh…is anyone perfect? I know I am not. I wonder how many times I have hurt someone while not meaning to. I might have even been perceived as an “enemy” at some point.

It would be nice to think that I have never offended anyone…never stepped on toes…never hurt someone’s feelings. But that is just not realistic. Still…to be perceived as an enemy?

If I disagree with what you want to do…does that make me an enemy? No. It just means we have different thoughts or beliefs about something. However, I cannot help it if you perceive me to be an enemy if I try to stop you from doing something that might hurt others. In that case…perhaps I AM your “enemy”, although I prefer to think of myself as someone else’s friend. In fact, maybe I am even YOUR friend. When you hurt someone else, you really hurt yourself, too, although I know most people don’t see it that way.

So, what about those who oppose me? Are they my enemies? It is really difficult for me to think of having enemies…even when I have been lied about, impersonated and accused of heinous things. I have even been called a murderer! I am thinking that most people would probably think of the ones who did that to me as being my enemies, but I don’t. Some people might wonder if I hate the people who did this to me, but I don’t.

You see…I see a bigger picture. I do have a true enemy…hasatan. That is who is really behind the attacks. I see the people involved as being puppets. They think they are in control…but they are not. Nothing can happen to me that is not either caused by my heavenly Abba/Father or allowed by Him. No one is more powerful than He is.

Scripture tells us that our battle is not with flesh and blood but with “principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.” Wow! It is not people who are my real enemies, but spiritual beings.

Yeshua told us: “But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,  so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven; for He causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.  For if you love those who love you, what reward do you have? Do not even the tax collectors do the same? If you greet only your brothers, what more are you doing than others? Do not even the Gentiles do the same?  Therefore you are to be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect.”

Yikes! That is a tall order! I am to pray for those who persecute me…not hate them! We cannot only truly pray for someone we love…for true prayer is born of wanting what is best for someone…not out of hate and wanting bad things.

Notice something about that order? He separates enemies from those who persecute us! Typically, we think of our persecutors as our enemies, but He says to “love your enemies AND pray for those who persecute you” (emphasis mine)…as if they are NOT necessarily one and the same. So, that brings me back to the idea that, although people persecute us, our real enemy is in the spiritual realm.

Not only that, but look at what Strong’s say about the word used for “enemies”:

G2190
ἐχθρός
echthros
ekh-thros’
From a primary word ἔχθω echthō (to hate); hateful (passively odious, or actively hostile); usually as a noun, an adversary (especially Satan): – enemy, foe.

OK…now that raises an interesting question…are we to love hasatan? Ouch! Now THAT will certainly raise some eyebrows! I can already hear some calling me a heretic! But let’s just think about this for a moment…before you hit that button to close this blog bpage down.

What does it mean to love? We often think of loving someone as doing good things for them…and rightly so, but is that the only way to love someone? Having had to deal with so much ugliness in this world, especially from people, I think that loving someone is sometimes reflected in what you DON’T do for them.

For example, my parents accused me of always lying to them. Well then, it seemed to me at the time that the most loving thing I could do for them was to not talk to them. It does no good to tell someone you love them if they truly believe you are always lying. I was also accused of disobeying the commandment to honor them. Well, if everything I say and do is, to them, dishonoring…then perhaps the most honoring thing I can do for them is…nothing!

That brings me to something else I don’t do…at least so far as I know. I don’t hate. I refuse to allow hate to fill my soul…even for such a one a hasatan…the adversary. Pity? Maybe. But hate? No! So…if love can be defined as what you don’t do as much as it is what you do…then perhaps…in some odd (to our way of thinking) manner…I am fulfilling the command to love my enemies by not hating them….by not hating my only real enemy…hasatan.

I would love to know what others think about this. I am certainly NOT advocating embracing hasatan. NAY…far from it! I am only positing that there might be another side to love and looking at what Yeshua taught us. What do YOU think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

