Skip to content

I Love That Yahweh Heard!

October 21, 2010

When I said “good morning” to my Abba upon awaking this morning, I asked Him what He wanted me to see in His word today. He started with Tehillah/Psalm 116. As I read, it spoke so much to my heart and to what I have experienced in life…and to some degree still am experiencing. It is as if the Psalmist was speaking the words of MY heart!

The very first words impacted me. “I love that Yahweh heard my voice when I prayed; because He turned His ear to me, I will call on Him as long as I live.” Yes! I DO love that He heard me. I know that He continues to hear me. He does not turn a deaf ear to my cries. He HEARS! And because He hears…I WILL call on Him as long as I live!

There are many times in my life when I have cried out to Him. Many times I wondered what He would do…or even IF He would do anything. Yet, I kept crying out. I knew in my heart that He was listening. I knew in my heart that, even though I did not understand what on earth He was doing in my life at that time, that He WAS doing something. I also knew that something was good, even if I could not see the goodness in it until a long time later.

The next words were also mine: “The cords of death were all around me, Sh’ol’s constrictions held me fast: I was finding only distress and anguish. But I called on the name of Yahweh: ‘Please, Yahweh! Save me!'” There are many kinds of death. There is the death of innocence that takes place with sexual abuse. There is the death of a reputation when lies are told about a person. There is the death of a marriage through divorce. There is the death of trust through domestic violence and/or adultery. There is the death of friendship through betrayal. And, of course, there is physical death with all of its ramifications.

I have experienced several different kinds of death. It definitely felt, at times, like the cords of death were all around me and Sh’ol was constricting me. Everywhere I turned, I found only distress and anguish. Yet…He did save me…many times, actually! He has brought much healing to my life and I owe my life to Him. Without Him I would not be alive…or I would be alive and non-functioning.

There are many other things in this Tehillah that speak to me, but I will save that for other posts. I hope that you, too, are walking with Yeshua/Jesus in your life today. Remember that He DOES hear your cries. Cry out to Him today. Recognize your need for Him. He IS there! When we accept Him as Lord of our lives, He promises to never leave us or forsake us. He listens for you!

Leave a Reply

